The First Two Punic Wars

The Phoenician colony Carthage (Qart Chadascht ).

The Carthaginian government; suffetes

The First Punic War: Hamilcar Barca; the treaty

Sicily, Sardinia-Corsica the first provinces.

Hannibal in Spain; Saguntum and the Ebro; the declaration of war

The start of the war (219 BC); consuls Publius Cornelius Scipio and Tiberius Sempronius Longus.

Battle of the Ticinus (note Scipio Jr.); Battle of the Trebia

Gaius Flaminius and the Battle of Lake Trasimene (217 BC)

The dictator Quintus Fabius Cunctator ("The Delayer")

The consuls Lucius Aemilius Paulus and Gaius Terrentius Varro; the Battle of Cannae (216 BC).

Roman character

Laevinus, Philip V, and the First Macedonian War

Syracuse, Archimedes, and Marcellus

Early victories in Spain; death of the Scipios

Publius Cornelius Scipio (the younger--he was only 24!) in Spain

Scipio vs. Fabius: the invasion of Africa

The Battle of Zama (201 BC)

The treaty ending the Second Punic War